welcome > projects > 65

A solar power plant to produce green hydrogen

Publié le 09/12/2021

After transforming its huge roof into a solar power plant, Flasa is turning to the production of renewable hydrogen. The project, carried out in partnership with the HES Valais Wallis, has just been awarded an Innosuisse cheque for CHF 15,000.

One kilo of hydrogen can store three times more energy than one kilo of petrol, and a hundred times more than the best electric batteries... The H2 molecule is presented as the Holy Grail of the ecological transition. However, hydrogen is currently mainly produced from hydrocarbons. The company Flasa, Filature de Laine Peignée d'Ajoie SA in Alle in the Swiss Jura, wants to decarbonise its production by using the surplus energy generated by its photovoltaic plant to produce and store green hydrogen.

A pioneering project

Flasa's commitment to renewable energy is not new. As early as 2012, the company began its ecological transition by renovating its roof and installing 6,359 solar panels. The 1,600,000 kWh generated each year cover about 30% of the needs of this factory for the production of textiles and technical fibres founded in 1934.

The company's energy needs were greater in the past. Today, the company wants to use the available infrastructure for new purposes. The production of green hydrogen and the provision of services to the electricity grid, which is increasingly being used by renewable energies. "The industrial site is currently oversized, but it could become an experimental centre for sustainable energy and the optimisation of electricity networks," explains André-Jean Six, president of Flasa.

An Innosuisse cheque for CHF 15,000 will initially be used to evaluate the economic, technical and environmental potential of this project to produce hydrogen from an existing solar power plant.

Facilitating the ecological transition

Indeed, while electric cars meet the needs of daily journeys for private individuals, trains, buses and heavy goods vehicles need more power and range. Equipping them with a fuel cell, which produces electricity from green hydrogen, would be an interesting solution.

"Our production could supply a hydrogen station for buses and trucks. Switzerland has many players in this field, particularly for supplying shops. In Germany, with the help of local authorities, the Alstom group has just launched its first hydrogen-powered train, the Coradia iLint, which is currently running in commercial service. The need for green hydrogen is therefore also affecting the rail sector. Flasa is located 40 km from Belfort and a cross-border project is possible, as we can rely on the scientific skills of the universities, hydrogen research institutes and the industrial fabric present in neighbouring France (FCLAB, UBFC, UTBM, CEA and CNRS)", continues André-Jean Six. continues André-Jean Six.

Julien Pouget, associate professor at the HES Valais-Wallis in Sion, a specialist in smart grids, is studying the commercial potential of the project.

An industrial site in transformation

Flasa has started thinking globally for a more sustainable future. "We want to optimise our premises by also integrating a logistics centre. In this way, the available infrastructure will be able to accommodate new companies active in the field of renewable energy, the valorisation of local materials and services for low-carbon mobility," concludes André-Jean Six. A smooth transition, carried out in consultation with local stakeholders, in particular the municipality of Alle, the Syndicat Intercommunal du District de Porrentruy (SIDP) and the canton of Jura.

accueil > projets > 65

Une centrale solaire pour produire de l'hydrogène vert

Publié le 09/12/2021

Après avoir transformé son immense toiture en centrale solaire, Flasa s’oriente vers la production d’hydrogène renouvelable. Le projet, mené en partenariat avec la HES Valais Wallis, vient de décrocher un chèque Innosuisse de 15 000 CHF.

Un kilo d'hydrogène permet de stocker trois fois plus d'énergie qu'un kilo d'essence, et cent fois plus que les meilleures batteries électriques… La molécule H2 est présentée comme le Graal de la transition écologique. Cependant, l'hydrogène est actuellement majoritairement produit à partir d’hydrocarbures. L’entreprise Flasa, Filature de Laine peignée d'Ajoie SA à Alle dans le Jura Suisse, souhaite décarboner sa production en utilisant le surplus d'énergie généré par sa centrale photovoltaïque pour se lancer dans la production et le stockage d’hydrogène vert.

Un projet pilote

L'engagement de Flasa en faveur des énergies renouvelables ne date pas d’hier. En 2012 déjà, l’entreprise commence sa transition écologique en rénovant sa toiture et en installant 6 359 panneaux solaires. Les 1 600 000 kWh générés chaque année couvrent environ 30 % des besoins de cette usine de production de textiles et de fibres techniques fondée en 1934.

Les besoins énergétiques de l'entreprise étaient plus importants par le passé. Aujourd'hui, la société souhaite utiliser les infrastructures disponibles pour de nouveaux usages. La production d’hydrogène vert et l’offre de service au réseau électrique, de plus en plus sollicité par les énergies renouvelables. « Le site industriel est aujourd'hui surdimensionné, mais il pourrait devenir un centre d’expérimentation pour les énergies durables et l’optimisation des réseaux électriques », explique André-Jean Six, président de Flasa.

Un chèque Innosuisse de 15 000 CHF doit permettre, dans un premier temps, d'évaluer du point de vue économique, technique et environnemental le potentiel de ce projet de production d’hydrogène à partir d’une centrale solaire existante.

Accompagner la transition écologique

En effet, si la voiture électrique satisfait les besoins des trajets quotidiens pour les particuliers, les trains, les bus et les poids lourds ont besoin de plus de puissance et d’autonomie. Les équiper d’une Pile à Combustible, qui produit de l’électricité à partir d’hydrogène vert, serait une solution intéressante.

« Notre production pourrait alimenter une station d’hydrogène pour des bus et des poids lourds. La Suisse a de nombreux acteurs dans ce domaine, notamment pour approvisionner les magasins. En Allemagne, avec l’aide des collectivités locales, le groupe Alstom vient de lancer son premier train alimenté à l’hydrogène, le Coradia iLint qui circule actuellement en service commercial. Les besoins d’hydrogène vert touchent donc également le secteur ferroviaire. Flasa est situé à 40 km de Belfort et un projet transfrontalier est envisageable, car nous pouvons nous appuyer sur les compétences scientifiques des universités, des instituts de recherche en hydrogène, et du tissu industriel présents en France voisine (FCLAB, UBFC, UTBM, CEA et CNRS) » , poursuit André-Jean Six.

Julien Pouget, professeur associé à la HES Valais-Wallis à Sion, spécialiste des smart grids, ces réseaux d'énergie intelligents, étudie quant à lui le potentiel commercial du projet.

Un site industriel en transition

Flasa a amorcé une réflexion globale pour un avenir plus durable. « Nous voulons optimiser nos locaux en y intégrant également un centre logistique. Ainsi les infrastructures disponibles pourront accueillir des nouvelles entreprises actives dans le domaine de l’énergie renouvelable, de la valorisation des matériaux locaux et des services pour une mobilité décarbonée », conclut André-Jean Six. Une transition douce, menée en concertation avec les acteurs du territoire, et notamment la commune d’Alle, le Syndicat Intercommunal du District de Porrentruy (SIDP) et le canton du Jura.