welcome > projects > 53

Novaccess : a dynamic network architecture optimized by software

Publié le 08/06/2018

Novaccess deploys its activities in the field of "Smart Cities". In order to be always at the forefront in a field in constant evolution, the company wanted to investigate new standards to determine the new approaches they could bring to future IoT deployments.

The company

Created in 2011, Novaccess deploys its activities in the field of "Smart Cities" and in particular in the Internet of Things (IoT). Since its beginning, the young startup has developed several CTI projects, all set-up with the assistance of Alliance. It has thus been able to support its technological development in a rapidly evolving field. One of these projects was even singled out in the 2015 Activity report of CTI. According to the CEO of Novaccess, the CTI projects have given the company a good momentum and the company is now experiencing an international development, particularly in the United Arab Emirates.

The project

The constant evolution of the IoT market requires anticipating new technologies and their commercial opportunities. Novaccess has to innovate constantly. The latest project called, "IoT Hybrid Networks for a Sustainable and Efficient Smart" was developed in partnership with the Institute for Information and Communication Technologies (IICT) at HEIG-VD. The purpose of the project was to investigate the new "Narrowband IoT (NB-IoT)" and "Long Term Evolution Machine to Machine (LTE-M)" standards in order to ascertain new approaches they could make to future IoT deployments.

The interest of the project goes far beyond the control of these new technologies. It allows indeed to improve all the operational characteristics and thus ensure the durability of IoT applications. Innovation is provided by a dynamic and software-optimized network architecture, a new perspective of "Software-defined networking". CTI experts recognized the quality of the project and approved its funding.

Setting-up a project rarely happens without initial ideas getting better along the way. Unfortunately, time is often lacking. During the submission of this project, the stress of the last moments was particularly epic due to the November 3, 2017 deadline, set to allow the passage of CTI to the new organization Innosuisse. It is precisely in these moments that the support of a mentor is decisive, by the trust that he brings to the partners and by the quality of the dialogue established.

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch

accueil > projets > 53

Novaccess : une architecture réseau dynamique et optimisée par logiciel

Publié le 08/06/2018

Novaccess déploie ses activités dans le domaine des «Smart Cities». Afin d'être toujours à la pointe dans un domaine en constante évolution, la société a souhaité investiguer de nouvelles normes pour déterminer les nouvelles approches qu’elles pouvaient apporter aux futurs déploiements IoT.

La société

Créée en 2011, Novaccess déploie ses activités dans le domaine des «Smart Cities» et en particulier dans celui de l’internet des objets (IoT, Internet of Things). Depuis ses débuts, la jeune pousse a jalonné son parcours de plusieurs projets CTI, tous montés avec le concours d’Alliance. Elle a ainsi pu soutenir son développement technologique dans un domaine en forte évolution. L’un de ces projets a même été distingué dans le rapport d’activité 2015 de la CTI. De l’aveu même du CEO de Novacess, les projets CTI ont donné une belle dynamique à l’entreprise et celle-ci connaît aujourd’hui un développement international, notamment aux Emirats arabes unis.

Le projet

La constante évolution du marché de l’IoT exige d’anticiper les nouvelles technologies et leurs opportunités commerciales. Novaccess se doit d’innover en permanence. Le dernier projet, intitulé « IoT Hybrid Networks for a Sustainable and Efficient Smart » a été développé en partenariat avec l’Institut des technologies de l’information et de la communication (IICT) de la HEIG-VD. Le but du projet était d’investiguer les nouvelles normes « Narrowband IoT (NB-IoT) » et « Long Term Evolution Machine to Machine (LTE-M) » pour déterminer les nouvelles approches qu’elles pouvaient apporter aux futurs déploiements IoT.

L’intérêt du projet va bien au-delà de la maîtrise de ces nouvelles technologies. Il permet en effet d’améliorer l’ensemble des caractéristiques opérationnelles et ainsi d’assurer la pérennité des applications IoT. L’innovation est apportée par une architecture réseau dynamique et optimisée par logiciel, une nouvelle perspective du « Software-defined networking ». Les experts CTI ont reconnu la qualité du projet et ont approuvé son financement.

Le montage du projet se déroule rarement sans que les idées initiales ne se bonifient en cours de route. Malheureusement, le temps vient aussi souvent à manquer. Lors de la soumission de ce projet, le stress des derniers instants a été particulièrement épique à cause de la date butoir du 3 novembre 2017, arrêtée pour permettre le passage de la CTI à la nouvelle organisation Innosuisse. C’est précisément dans ces moments-là que le soutien d’un conseiller est décisif, par la confiance qu’il apporte aux partenaires et par la qualité du dialogue instauré.

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch