welcome > projects > 52

Fondarex SA: the chill-block, a centrepiece to reconsider

Publié le 04/06/2018

Fondarex SA manufactures and markets vacuum systems for the casting of complex metal parts. The company wishes to revisit the thermal and physical phenomena at stake in the chill-block.

The company

Founded in 1946, the family business Fondarex SA, located on the Riviera, has about thirty employees. It manufactures and markets vacuum systems for the casting of complex metal parts (aluminum, zinc, magnesium, bronze, brass). Fondarex main customers are automotive manufacturers and subcontractors, such as Audi, BMW, Nissan, Renault or Tesla. The company is the worldwide leader with its vacuum systems giving guarantee of an economical production of high quality metal parts.

The project

During the injection of aluminum into the mold, a vacuum is created and the gases in the cavity are evacuated. The chill-block, a centrepiece (see illustration) located at the outlet of the mold, is used to slow down the molten aluminum and to ensure a complete filling of the mold. The geometry of this piece is critical to ensure a good evacuation of the gas out of the mold and a good cooling of the molten aluminum. In order to differentiate itself from the competition, Fondarex wished to carry out a fundamental study to revisit the thermal and physical phenomena at stake. Thanks to the intervention of Promove, the association for economic promotion of the Riviera and Lavaux, an innovation mentor from Alliance visits Fondarex in order to analyze its needs. After a search in Alliance academic network, the innovation mentor connects the company with Professor Da Riva of the Institute of Thermal Engineering at HEIG-VD.

An analytical study was first performed to understand the impact of the different parameters: the exchange surface, the material used for the chill-block and the geometry.

Based on the recommendations of this study, a new design has been developed and a new product called "Dynamic Vent" has been designed. It is now in the marketing phase. Thanks to the new design, this element is more compact and lighter than the current chill-block, which facilitates its placement in the mold, reduces the projected area and reduces the closing force of the injection molding machine. In addition, the new geometry of the profile shows a reduction of the air resistance, which improves the evacuation performance of the air in the mold. It was presented to the public for the first time at the Euroguss fair in Nuremberg in January 2018.

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch

accueil > projets > 52

Fondarex SA: le chill-block, une pièce maîtresse à améliorer

Publié le 04/06/2018

Fondarex SA fabrique et commercialise des systèmes de mise sous vide pour le coulage de pièces complexes en métal. La société souhaite revisiter les phénomènes thermiques et physiques en jeu dans le chill-block.

La société

Fondée en 1946, l’entreprise familialeFondarex SA, située sur la Riviera, emploie une trentaine de personnes. Elle fabrique et commercialise des systèmes de mise sous vide pour le coulage de pièces complexes en métal (aluminium, zinc, magnésium, bronze, laiton). Ses principaux clients sont les fabricants et sous-traitants automobiles, tels qu’Audi, BMW, Nissan, Renault ou Tesla. Fondarex est leader mondial avec ses systèmes de mise sous vide, qui garantissent une production économique de pièces d’une grande qualité.

Le projet

Durant l’injection de l’aluminium dans le moule, un vide est créé et les gaz dans la cavité sont évacués. Le chill-block, une pièce maîtresse (voir illustration) située à la sortie du moule, sert à freiner l’aluminium en fusion et à garantir un remplissage complet du moule. La géométrie de cette pièce est déterminante pour assurer une bonne évacuation du gaz hors du moule et un bon refroidissement de l’aluminium en fusion. Afin de se différencier de la concurrence, Fondarex a souhaité réaliser une étude de fond pour revisiter les phénomènes thermiques et physiques en jeu. Grâce à l’entremise de Promove, l’association de promotion économique de la Riviera et de Lavaux, une conseillère d’Alliance rend visite à Fondarex pour analyser ses besoins. Suite à une recherche dans le réseau académique d’Alliance, elle met la société en contact avec le professeur Da Riva de l’Institut de Génie thermique de la HEIG-VD.

Une étude analytique a d’abord été réalisée afin de bien cerner l’impact des différents paramètres : la surface d’échange, la matière constituant le chill-block et la géométrie.

Sur base des recommandations de cette étude, un nouveau design a été développé et un nouveau produit appelé « Dynamic Vent » a été conçu. Il est aujourd’hui en phase de mise sur le marché. Grâce au nouveau design, cet élément est plus compact et plus léger que le chill-block actuel, ce qui facilite sa mise en place dans le moule, diminue la surface projetée et réduit la force de fermeture de la presse d’injection. De plus, la nouvelle géométrie du profil présente une diminution de la résistance de l’air, ce qui améliore la performance d’aspiration de l’air dans le moule. Il a été présenté au public la première fois lors de la foire Euroguss à Nuremberg en janvier 2018.

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch