welcome > projects > 46

DIGI SENS SA : new generation of force sensors

Publié le 15/05/2017

Digi Sens SA produces measuring force systems. The company decided to study and develop a new generation of force sensors adapted to emerging concepts.

The company

Headquartered in Fribourg, DIGI SENS SA was founded in 1993. The company develops, produces and sells measurement systems based on the oscillating-wire technology. The company employs 35 people and has clients and partners all around the world. DIGI SENS places a particular emphasis on innovation in order to offer its customers reliable and inexpensive solutions with high-added value.

The project

The DIGI SENS sensors measure the force (weight) using an oscillating wire. As in a guitar, the wire oscillates and the frequency of oscillation changes according to the tension. The tension changes in proportion to the applied force. A measurement of the frequency change informs about the force exerted.

DIGI SENS has imagined a new generation of sensors based on an innovative approach for the excitation and response mechanisms of the oscillating wire. The expected benefits are reduced energy consumption, reduced sensor size, lower production costs and the possibility to offer a wider range of applications, such as for emerging concepts like "IoT" or "Industry 4.0".

Although the company has considerable expertise in the field of sensors using vibrating wire technology, it needs certain technologies and R&D capabilities necessary for this project. As a member of the Alliance Association, DIGI SENS has naturally contacted Alliance in order to obtain guidance from an Innovation mentor. A short preliminary feasibility study had to be carried out in the Ceramics Laboratory of Prof. Muralt at EPFL. A request for financing this study is addressed to the CTI in the form of an Innovation Check. The request is accepted and the feasibility study has delivered very promising results.

It is then decided to continue on this innovation path and apply for a classic CTI project. Specific skills for the preparation of metallic samples are further required by the consortium. The group of Prof. Fouad Rahali of the HEIG-VD integrates the project for this part. The application is written and sent to the CTI for the financing of the project. After one iteration, the project is accepted at the end of 2016.

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch

accueil > projets > 46

DIGI SENS SA: une nouvelle génération de capteurs de force

Publié le 15/05/2017

La société Digi Sens SA commercialise des systèmes de mesure. Elle décide d'étudier et de développer une nouvelle génération de capteurs de force adaptés aux concepts émergents.

La société

Basée à Fribourg, la société DIGI SENS SA a été fondée en 1993. Elle élabore, produit et commercialise des systèmes de mesure qui sont basés sur la technologie des cordes vibrantes. L‘entreprise compte 35 collaborateurs et collaboratrices et a des clients et partenaires dans le monde entier. DIGI SENS accorde une importance particulière à l’innovation afin d’offrir à ses clients des solutions à forte valeur ajoutée, fiables et peu onéreuses.

Le projet

Les capteurs DIGI SENS mesurent la force (poids) à l'aide d'un fil oscillant. Comme dans une guitare, le fil oscille et la fréquence d'oscillation change en fonction de la tension. La tension quant à elle change proportionnellement à la force appliquée. Une mesure du changement de fréquence informe sur la force exercée.

DIGI SENS a imaginé une nouvelle génération de capteurs à partir d’une approche innovante pour les mécanismes d'excitation et de réponse du fil oscillant. Les avantages attendus sont la réduction de la consommation d'énergie, la réduction de la taille du capteur, la diminution des coûts de production et la possibilité d’offrir une gamme d'applications plus large, comme, par exemple, pour les concepts émergents "IoT" ou "Industry 4.0".

Bien que la société possède un savoir-faire important dans le domaine des capteurs utilisant la technologie des cordes vibrantes, pour mener à bien ce projet il lui manque certaines technologies et capacités de R&D. Membre de l’Association Alliance, elle se tourne tout naturellement vers Alliance pour qu’un conseiller la guide dans cette démarche. Dans un premier temps, une courte étude de faisabilité préliminaire a dû être réalisée dans le Laboratoire de céramique du Prof. Muralt à l’EPFL. Une demande de financement est adressée à la CTI sous forme de Chèque innovation. Celle-ci est acceptée par la CTI et l’étude de faisabilité a délivré des résultats très prometteurs.

Il est alors décidé de poursuivre sur cette voie en s’engageant dans le montage d’un projet CTI classique. Des compétences spécifiques pour la préparation d’échantillons métalliques sont nécessaires au consortium. Le groupe du Prof. Fouad Rahali de la HEIG-VD intègre le projet pour cette partie. Une demande est rédigée et adressée à la CTI pour le financement du projet. Après une itération, le projet est accepté fin 2016.

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch