welcome > projects > 45

Artmyn SA : Works of art from various angles

Publié le 12/05/2017

Start-up of EPFL, ARTMYN SA provides a totally new solution for high-precision digitization of works of art allowing users to perform an emotional journey where digital replicas can be explored as if they were holding the originals.

Stèle Iouy et Abenety - 1900-1750 av. J.-C.

The project

A portable scanner captures gigabytes of data that render the work to its smallest details, which, together with proprietary web technologies, allow incredibly realistic visualizations. Thanks to an interactive rendering on mobile devices, works can be accessed from a simple web browser.

It all started in the laboratory of Prof. Martin Vetterli, the LCAV (Audiovisual Communications Laboratory) at EPFL. In collaboration with the Martin Bodmer Foundation and Google, the laboratory has developed a new type of scanner capable of capturing in all their richness the manuscripts of the Foundation and their magnificent illustrations.

Rapidly, the researchers realized the formidable commercial potential of the prototype they had developed. Indeed, it allowed to present on a screen works of art that were difficult to access for a wide audience. The proposed images showed the pages of the manuscripts in their smallest details, often even invisible to the naked eye, under different angles and lights.

But the prototype had some restrictions that made it impossible to market: too bulky to be transportable and too slow. New research was therefore needed in order to be able to exploit this technology in a start-up.

Dr. Loïc Baboulaz, the researcher who developed this prototype, together with Alexandre Catsicas, a young entrepreneur seduced by this technology, came to Alliance for support. In order to continue the necessary research on this project they needed funding. Due to the fact that the company was not created, it was decided to make a CTI project without implementation partner. This type of project is relatively difficult to obtain since the mission of CTI is to finance collaborative projects between a research laboratory and an industrial partner. But if the commercial potential of a project without implementation partner is credible, then the funding request can be accepted. The application was therefore carefully prepared in order to highlight the high potential of the project and the CTI agreed to finance it.

An international success

Today the research is finished and the start-up, ARTMYN SA, created in June 2016, is internationally successful. In addition to the Bodmer Foundation, it already has prestigious partner institutions such as the Musée de l'Elysée, Sotheby's, Artlab of EPFL, AXA Art Insurances and others to discover on their website .

"Alliance and CTI have been key elements to facilitate the transition from an academic project to the creation of our startup. Thank you for this invaluable support", Loïc Baboulaz, CEO ARTMYN SA

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch

accueil > projets > 45

Artmyn SA: des oeuvres d'art sous tous les angles

Publié le 12/05/2017

Start-up de l’EPFL, ARTMYN SA fournit une solution totalement inédite de numérisation haute précision d’œuvres d’art permettant aux utilisateurs d’effectuer un voyage émotionnel où les répliques numériques peuvent être explorées comme s’ils tenaient en main les originaux.

Stèle Iouy et Abenety - 1900-1750 av. J.-C.

Le projet

Un scanner portable capture des giga octets de données restituant l'œuvre dans ses moindres détails qui, avec les technologies web propriétaires, permettent une visualisation incroyablement réaliste. Avec un rendu interactif sur les appareils mobiles, les œuvres sont accessibles depuis un simple navigateur web.

Tout a commencé dans le laboratoire du Prof. Martin Vetterli, le LCAV (Laboratoire de communications audiovisuelles) à l’EPFL. En collaboration avec la Fondation Martin Bodmer et Google, le laboratoire a mis au point un nouveau type de scanner capable de saisir dans toute leur richesse les manuscrits magnifiquement illustrés de la Fondation.

Rapidement, les chercheurs se sont rendu compte du formidable potentiel commercial du prototype qu’ils avaient mis au point. Celui-ci permettait en effet de présenter à l’écran et à un large public, des œuvres d’art difficilement accessibles. Les images proposées montraient les pages des manuscrits dans leurs moindres détails, souvent même invisibles à l’œil nu, sous des angles et des lumières différentes.

Mais le prototype présentait quelques restrictions pour pouvoir en faire un produit commercial : trop volumineux pour être transportable et trop lent. De nouveaux travaux de recherche s’avérèrent donc nécessaires afin de pouvoir valoriser cette technologie dans une start-up.

Le chercheur ayant mis ce prototype au point, le Dr Loïc Baboulaz, accompagné d’Alexandre Catsicas, un jeune entrepreneur séduit par cette technologie, est donc venu chercher de l’aide chez Alliance pour trouver un financement afin de pouvoir poursuivre les recherches nécessaires sur ce projet. Dans la mesure où l’entreprise n’avait pas été créée, il a été décidé de faire un projet CTI sans partenaire d’implémentation. Ce type de projet est relativement difficile à obtenir puisque la mission de la CTI est de financer des projets de collaboration entre un laboratoire de recherche et un partenaire industriel. Mais si le potentiel commercial d’un projet sans partenaire économique est crédible, alors le financement peut être accepté. La demande a donc été préparée minutieusement afin de bien mettre en avant le fort potentiel du projet et la CTI a accepté de le financer.

Succès international

Aujourd’hui la recherche est terminée, la start-up ARTMYN SA a été créée en juin 2016 et connaît un succès international. Elle compte déjà parmi ses partenaires, en plus de la Fondation Bodmer, des institutions prestigieuses comme, le Musée de l’Elysée, Sotheby’s, le Artlab de l’EPFL, AXA Art Insurances et d’autres encore à découvrir sur leur site.

"Alliance et la CTI ont été des éléments clé pour faciliter la transition de l’académique vers la création de notre startup. Merci pour ce soutien inestimable!", Loïc Baboulaz, CEO ARTMYN SA.

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch