welcome > projects > 35

Scientific Visual SA : illuminating Sapphire – making visible the invisible

Mis à jour le 28/03/2016

Winner of Alliance Association Prize Start-up category, Scientific Visual SA has created a line of scanners that perform automated quality control by rendering non-polished sapphire optically transparent and so allowing the detection of internal defects.

Used as a watch glass, highly scratch resistant, sapphire is the ideal material to support occasional damages.

Scientific Visual is an EPFL start-up, consisting of three employees, was created in 2010 by Dr. Ivan Orlov, a material science engineer who developed an optical-scanning technology for the quality control of sapphire.

Extremely scratch-resistant, sapphire is an ideal material in the watch industry as it is used as watch covers. However its opacity may be problematic and hide certain defects and imperfections such as cracks or air bubbles that have been trapped during crystallization and are invisible to the naked eye. Traditionally, quality control for imperfections in sapphire is performed after the polishing process of each glass cover, and is a long and expensive process.

A revolutionary process

The technology developed by Dr. Ivan Orlov has revolutionized the control quality process by optically detecting defects in non-polished sapphire before the cutting and polishing process of the glass covers, and thus eliminating defective sapphire at the start of manufacturing process. The SapphiroScan ™ - the first patented machine that fully automates the quality control process of sapphires by using innovative optical liquids, developed by Scientific Visual. SapphiroScan™ sorts the pieces according to their quality and saves the “tomographic images of the sapphire. An integrated software application also produces statistical analysis that can be transmitted to crystal producers.

First step accomplished thanks to Alliance

Ivan Orlov contacted an innovation mentor at Alliance to guide and support his project. "His assistance was fantastic. In a few months we had established a CTI application and it was accepted, "says Dr. Orlov. The liquid was developed in collaboration with three EPFL laboratories: the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces (LPI), the Laboratory of Organometallic and Medicinal Chemistry (LCOM) and the Laboratory of Crystallography (LCR). Among these collaborations, Scientifc Visual fostered the most fruitful and friendly collaboration with Prof. Dyson, the project academic leader.

A growing market

As the project developed, the sapphire market also expanded considerably. In addition to the watch industry, new companies as Apple and Samsung are also looking to use this material for smartphones screens. Taking advantage of these expanding markets, Scientific Visual has secured its first round of financing and is launching into new LED smartphones markets.

Dr. Orlov’s innovation hailed a great success at the International Watchmaking and Jewelry Trade show in Geneva (EPHJ) in June 2013. In March 2015, Scientific Visual signed a contract for a new of line scanners - SapphiroScope ™ - which is based on same technology, intended for the LED industry, where the sapphire has some tremendous properties as substrate for semiconductor circuits.

In August 2015, a partnership with a large Asian distributor was also found for the marketing of Scientific Visual products in mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. Growth prospects looks bright for Scientific Visual, which has launched a second round of funding up to CHF 1.2 million to finance its expansion into new LEDs and smartphone markets.

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch

accueil > projets > 35

Scientific Visual SA : éclairer les parties opaques des saphirs

Mis à jour le 28/03/2016

Prix de l'Association Alliance catégorie Start-Up, Scientific Visual SA a créé une ligne de machines permettant de rendre transparent le saphir brut et ainsi de contrôler ses défauts cachés de façon automatisée.

Utilisé comme verre de montre, très résistant aux rayures, le saphir est le matériau idéal pour supporter des dommages occasionnels.

Scientific Visual est une start-up de l’EPFL composée de trois collaborateurs, créée en 2010 par le Dr Ivan Orlov, ingénieur en sciences des matériaux, qui a développé une technologie de balayage optique pour le contrôle de qualité du saphir.

Très résistant aux rayures, le saphir est un matériau idéal utilisé notamment dans l’industrie horlogère pour le verre de montre. Son opacité peut toutefois s’avérer problématique et masquer certains défauts et imperfections, comme des cracks ou des bulles d’air piégés pendant la cristallisation, invisibles à l’œil nu. Le contrôle qualité se fait donc traditionnellement après le polissage de chaque verre, un processus long et coûteux.

Un processus révolutionnaire

La technologie développée par le Dr Ivan Orlov a révolutionné ce processus. Il est désormais possible d’éliminer optiquement la surface opaque du saphir brut et d’ainsi visualiser ses défauts sans polissage. Le SapphiroScan™ – première machine brevetée mise au point par Scientific Visual – permet d’automatiser le processus de contrôle grâce à des liquides optiques innovants, de trier les pièces selon leur qualité et d’enregistrer l’image « tomographique » du saphir. Le logiciel embarqué donne également accès à de nombreuses statistiques pouvant être transmises aux producteurs de cristaux.

Premier pas accompli grâce à Alliance

Pour être accompagné dans son projet, Ivan Orlov contacte un conseiller technologique d’Alliance. « Son aide a été fantastique. En quelques mois on avait construit le dossier CTI et il a été accepté », confie le Dr Orlov. Le liquide a été développé en collaboration avec trois laboratoires de l’EPFL : le Laboratoire de photonique et interface (LPI), le Laboratoire de chimie organométallique et médicinale (LCOM) et le Laboratoire de cristallographie (LCR). Parmi ces collaborations, celle avec le Prof. Dyson, chef du projet du côté académique, s’est avérée particulièrement fructueuse et amicale.

Un marché en pleine expansion

Durant le développement du projet, le marché du saphir s’est considérablement élargi. En plus de l’industrie horlogère, de nouvelles entreprises comme Apple ou Samsung cherchent aussi à utiliser ce matériau pour les écrans des smartphones. Bénéficiant de cette vague de croissance, Scientific Visual a clôturé son premier tour d’investissement et est en pleine expansion vers les nouveaux marchés des LED et des smartphones.

L’innovation du Dr Orlov remporte un franc succès lors de son annonce en juin 2013 au salon international de l’industrie horlogère de Genève (EPHJ). En mars 2015, Scientific Visual signe un contrat pour une nouvelle ligne de scanners – SapphiroScope™ – reposant sur la même technologie et destinés à l’industrie des LED, où le saphir possède de sérieux atouts en tant que substrat pour les circuits semi-conducteurs.

En août 2015, un partenariat avec un grand distributeur asiatique est également trouvé pour la commercialisation de ces produits en Chine continentale, à Hongkong et à Taiwan. Les perspectives de développement sont réjouissantes pour Scientific Visual, qui vient de lancer une deuxième levée de fonds à hauteur de CHF 1,2 Mio pour financer son expansion vers les nouveaux marchés des LED et des smartphones.

Contact: alliance@alliance-tt.ch